single page, framed site?

AndaleTheGreat

Frames are not recommended for several reasons, one being that search engines can't read the file in the frame because it's a separate html page, but you can solve your music problem with one or two frames.

If you put the music file in the frameset file and have just one frame with links targetted to that frame, music will play but because you cannot have anything display from a frameset file, you won't be able to have a controller.

You can put the music file with a controller in a small top frame and have content in a lower frame with all links targetted to that frame, so that the controller and music don't change.

PHP can probably do the same thing and might be a better solution.

Hi, ( Im a beginner ) if we have a non-frameset home page , say a welcome page index.html which opens up a frameset website by clicking on a link to enter, Will that be a solution to by pass the problem of search engines which might then look at the index.html page first? and miss the frame?

Hi, ( Im a beginner ) if we have a non-frameset home page , say a welcome page index.html which opens up a frameset website by clicking on a link to enter, Will that be a solution to by pass the problem of search engines which might then look at the index.html page first? and miss the frame?

If your site is in frames then you will need to take it out of frames. With frames, the only pages that your site will get indexed is the index.html (as you mentioned above) and the initial default frame page when you enter into a frame site.

Frames are like multiple windows in the browser and the only page that gets indexed is the root frame that puts it all together. Go ahead and click on a few of your links and look at the url in the address bar of your browser and see if it changes to reflect the pages your are viewing.