define relative paths

wolfkin

I remember among the many tutorials a method for defining the starting path of relative links.

Ok I found what I'm looking for the BASE attribue

out of curiosity is it a good idea to use it or not? I was reading some of the CSS tutorials that suggested it would be better to use ID instead of CLASS all the time. Is it the same sort of situation with BASE?

Edited by wolfkin

ID's should only be used once on a page, but Classes can be used several times.

ID's are 'more specific' that 'class', so I would suggest that you use ID's for the page structure and class for elements within the structure.

Base I have no experience with other that a CMS I run uses it, but it is automated, so I have not really cheked it out.

Base has never been wide spread, sop not sure what support it has.

Relative is basically saying "You are here and need to go there... so leave this folder where you are now (../) and enter this folder and find the file there." This way of doing things is OK for static sites.

But what of dynamic sites? What if you want to use a PHP include so you only have one file with your navigation for your 1,000 pages? Well the Include is in a "includes" folder. Your pages are in a "PHP" folder or may folders for different catagories... and your index is in the Root folder. The paths are different so relative will not work. So you either write links as http://www.... or you put the full URL in a variable that you use. Either way as it works from the uppermost layer being the root, it does not matter what level any one linked file is in... the browser goes there from the root folder and finds it every time.

I do it that way with my sites. I really can't say how well Base works, but it is the same idea. I have never really seen any sites using it.

He beat me again.