Changing domain

janwonders

Hi,

I'm a beginner to web design and this seems like a great forum. I hope my first question is ok:

I have a website up on one domain but I want to move it to another domain, my question is, should I start the site over again at the new domain or can I just point the new domain to my old site?

Where I am confused is if I point newdomain.com to oldsite.com, then will the site visitor see 'oldsite.com' in the browser or will they see 'newdomain.com' in the browser?

This site hosts a lot of photographs and each one is linked to a folder on the server. I originally thought I could just point the new domain to the old site but now I'm imagining I might have to manually re-link every photograph to the folder on the server at the new domain.

I hope I'm making sense. I don't mind that both domains point to the same site, but I would prefer that visitors to the site are seeing the new domain in the browser, rather than the old domain, because the new domain is more relevant to the content.

thanks for your help,

Janwonders

You should be able to "park" the new domain on top of the existing site.

Whether they see the old domain name in the Address bar will depend on how the page links are created. If the links are 'hard-coded', (like href=h t t p://domain.com/folder/page.html), then they will see the old domain name.

If they are referenced relatively, (like href= ./folder/page.html), *I believe* the new domain will show.