Images in DB, it's doing my head in!

ll87

Hey guys, first off I am new to PHP and everything im doing is new to me. Ive read all the arguments for and against storing Images as BLOBs in a MySQL database, but i have to and i won't be having that many images anyways.

I have a script (constructed after looking at many examples) but it appears nothing is uploading, so surely it must be something wrong with my queries?

If i just run it with echo'ing the $_FILES data it displays that correctly so it's a problem with my queries.

Here's my upload code:

<?php
   session_start();

include 'database.php'; //connects, works fine.

$id = $_SESSION['id']; //user id.

echo $fileName = $_FILES['image_upload']['name'];
   $fileType = mysql_real_escape_string($_FILES['image_upload']['type']);
   $fileSize = round($_FILES['image_upload']['size'] / 1024); //store size in KB.
   $fileTempPath = mysql_real_escape_string($_FILES['image_upload']['tmp_name']);

/* Make sure image is of the type gif or jpeg and no more than 250KB */
   if($fileType == 'image/gif' || $fileType == 'image/jpeg' && $fileSize < 250){
       if($_FILES['file']['error'] > 0){
           echo 'Error: ' . $_FILES['image_upload']['error'];
       }
       else{
           $fp = fopen($fileTempPath,'r'); //open temporary file.
           $content = fread($fp,filesize($fileTempPath)); //start at start of file, read until end of file.
           fclose($fp);

/* check to see if user already has an image */
           $checkForImage = mysql_query("SELECT member_id FROM images WHERE member_id = '$id'") or die(mysql_error());
           if(mysql_num_rows($checkForImage) != 0){
               $updateQuery = "UPDATE images SET img_name='$fileName',img_type='$fileType',img_size='$fileSize',img='$content' WHERE member_id='$id'";
               $updateImage = mysql_query($updateQuery);
           }
           else{
               /* else insert new image with id of the user stored in member_id column in images table */