Multiple forums on website

philliesphan

Hi,

I'm very new to website design and I don't have a lot of background knowledge on much of this stuff, so forgive me if the following is a dumb question. I have an idea for a website where I would have multiple forums under one domain name. So, for example, the website would have an individual forum for each of the 50 states. So when a user goes on the website, he can select his state from a drop-down menu and will be redirected to the unique forum for his state.

Is something like this possible? If it is possible, is there an easier way to do this, like having the link direct the user to a subforum that is unique from the other states, but in which all of the states ultimately link back to a main forum, even if that's not seen? I've been trying to find information about this but there's not a whole lot out there about it. Also, since ultimately I'd want to monetize the website, would having multiple forums make it really difficult to put advertisement banners on the forums?

I guess that's a few questions, and the advertisement question might be one for another day, but any help you guys could give would be awesome. Thanks!

You can set this up with one forum software in which you create a forum category for each state. You would then use a custom header/footer to apply all your states into a menu/navigation. Some software will already do this for you.

It's nothing complex. I mean, just look at this forum and see all the main categories we have here. Now just think of them as being named as states (Texas forum, Florida forum, etc)

The other option is t setup a forum software for each state but then that can be quite hectic and maybe even costly since you will need 50 databases and 50 subdomains (you can do folders instead).

Edited by newseed