Looking for advice on how to begin learning

Wilder

Hi! My names Wilder.

I'm a sophomore in college and have evaded choosing a major thusfar and instead have taken care of core. I've been using computers forever though, and recently built this machine. I have no background in making websites except for creating forums and some adobe photoshop banners for back in the days when I was hard on videogames.

So where do I begin? I asked the dean at my college which classes I should enter to achieve this goal of learning to make websites and he lead me to "Introduction to programming I" and "Assembly language programming." I picked up a class in graphic design also... I read up on assembly language though and from all I can tell, people seem to think it's older than dinosuars and that I shouldn't bother with it. What do you think?

I'm a bright kid, and dedicated to this goal of learning to make websites. If you were to start learning again from scratch, how would you do it? Why? I really need some help here! I dont want to end up in a class that isn't helping me towards my goal!

There are a couple different directions you could go within the web design field. You don't have to be an expert at all of these things, but it would help if you had at least a basic understanding of them all.

-- Designer: You'll deal primarily with the layout and aesthetics of the site -- how the site looks. You'll work a lot with Photoshop to create the designs that will eventually become a working website. To learn this, you would want to take graphic design classes (to get an understanding of the principles behind the designs you do) and probably a Photoshop class or two, if you can't learn this on your own.