web design paper

Hello all!

I am a Graphic Design Student writing a research paper for a Web Design class. I am trying to interview 5 different Web Designers with 5 of the same questions. If you are a web designer please respond to this thread with answers to the questions, your name, your company name, (or maybe you are freelance.) and a link to a site you have designed. The questions are:

1. Do you feel that a print designer in today?s world can survive with little or no web experience?

2. How important a role does freelancing play in your career?

3. Would you say that most design firms pay more attention to a potential employee?s education, or a personal portfolio when hiring?

4. Do you think table based layouts are obsolete?

5. Do you use Adobe Dreamweaver for your work, and how essential is it to know code when designing in Dreamweaver?

Thanks very much everyone!! :)

Just thought I'd quickly answer your questions...

Ben Falk

Freelance Web Designer/Graphic Designer

Falken Creative

portfolio at http://www.falkencreative.com

1. Do you feel that a print designer in today?s world can survive with little or no web experience?

it depends on how you define "little or no web experience". Assuming you mean "no web design experience" (rather than simply not being able to understand how to use the internet), I say yes, it is possible. Print design isn't dead, and probably won't ever be. It provides a tactile experience that you won't get from a web site. It does helps if you understand some of the basics of web design though, or have a partner who can take care of web design, but if you are good at what you do, the jobs are out there.

2. How important a role does freelancing play in your career?