CSS for web developers

searchformeaning

Hi,

I'm new to web development. I learned HTML (simple language) and I am working on CSS. Some say that CSS won't take more than a week to learn. What I found is that CSS has a lot of topics (text styling, margins, padding, borders, image styling, positioning, layout,...etc) so the question is "Is it necessary to be good at CSS as a developer or I just need to know the basics and then go to Javascript and PHP?"

I think that CSS should take more than a week to learn. I think you should be able to pick up the basics and the overall concepts in a week, but an actual understanding of layouts and positioning and CSS browser compatibility issues will take longer than that.

I don't necessarily think that you have to be an expert at it, but I do think you should have a pretty good understanding. The development you do will have to eventually be shown in the browser, and the browser will require HTML/CSS to display it properly.

How skilled you need to be depends in part what your eventual goal is. If you plan to purely be a backend developer (PHP, Ruby/Ruby on Rails/databases/etc.) you may not need it as much, but then you will be limited by the fact that you will really only be a good fit for jobs where you have others doing the frontend development (HTML/CSS). If you plan to freelance, you'll probably have situations where either you'll need to do the frontend development as well or where you will have to hire another freelancer to do the frontend stuff, which will force you to charge higher rates or earn less money per project.

I think that CSS should take more than a week to learn. I think you should be able to pick up the basics and the overall concepts in a week, but an actual understanding of layouts and positioning and CSS browser compatibility issues will take longer than that.