Need help building website newbie

rcsnoopdog

I have to build a website for a renewable energy company which would have a shop in one part of it and parts telling the public what we do and what products we offer,now i need to build one that will work seamlessly with mobiles and ipad devices,i am under the impression that html5 and css3 are the way to go or maybe i am wrong,as i said i am pretty new to this,what i want to know as i haven't really built a website before which program should i use to build it which can create a really professional website but easier to use than most

For someone who hasn't even 'really' built a website before, this may not exactly be the ideal virgin project. How about something simple like a static site with a few pages built in Notepad to get your feet wet? Do you know html and CSS? What existing knowledge about webdesign do you have?

You say the site needs a shop - as in a store where people can order products through the website and submit their credit card info for payments? That would add a whole other dimension like a shopping cart, you'd need encryption, etc.

Maybe you can look into a CMS or Wordpress that offer those features and prefab templates that may work for a beginner?

How did you land this job?

For someone who hasn't even 'really' built a website before, this may not exactly be the ideal virgin project. How about something simple like a static site with a few pages built in Notepad to get your feet wet? Do you know html and CSS? What existing knowledge about webdesign do you have?

You say the site needs a shop - as in a store where people can order products through the website and submit their credit card info for payments? That would add a whole other dimension like a shopping cart, you'd need encryption, etc.

Maybe you can look into a CMS or Wordpress that offer those features and prefab templates that may work for a beginner?

How did you land this job?