Do you need WAMP/MAMP to design wordpress themes?

Peep

Having worked through Killersites "The Complete Web Designer" (Disc 1 & 2) I am quite satisfied with the basic web design skills I learned and built a website from being a complete beginner - the look of which I am quite happy with.

I then decided I wanted to add a blog to the site, and that the blog would look the same as the main website. Therefore I would like to gain the skill of being able to design Wordpress themes. I have the course "Complete Wordpress Training".

The instructor makes reference to "MAMP" for MAC, I would need "WAMP" as I operate in the Microsoft Windows Environment.

Can I first ask; what is the correct place to download "WAMP" from? Is this; http://www.wampserver.com/en/download.php the correct application?

Secondly, do you actually need MAMP/WAMP? can you not just style your wordpress files using CSS/Dreamweaver etc?

Apologies if these questions are confusing - but I don't have a web design background and I don't really know what mySQL is or anything like that....

*EDIT

I just wanted to add a bit of information about my goals so that people might find it easier to advise me. At the moment, I am not looking to become a professional web designer, I just want to be able to build my own sites and be able to attach a blog to them, which will be in the same design as the main site.

Perhaps I am trying to run before I can walk?

For instance here; http://www.killersites.com/blog/2011/web-designers-roadmap-for-2011/

it suggests that once you have some HTML and CSS skills (which are covered in the "Complete Web Designer" course), the next step is to learn some PHP basics. Maybe that is what I should do?

Edited by Peep

You don't have to have WAMP to design a Wordpress template. You can simple upload it to a host server (your domain) and work on it there. Otherwise, simply download the WAMP from the link you've provided and install it to your computer.