Just starting...

ThinkCoffee

Hi all,

I've been lurking for a while (stalker! lol)

I'm an experienced Print Graphic designer just beginning into the world of web design. Wow, what a difference. One pet peeve... I'm a typography geek and the web doesn't quite seem to give the nuances or control I am used to in the print industry.

k.. rant over (one kudo, stock images are cheaper at smaller sizes!)

My question is this. I have NO web training.. zero. I am a designer, not a programmer, but need to expand to stay current and be competitive. I will be learning this on my own as going back to school is out of my budget, in time as well as cash. I have Dreamweaver and all other CS5 programs (Mac), and am experienced in all except Dreamweaver and Flash.

There's so much to learn and I'm beginning to recognize html code and some css code, but I'm learning that's just the basics. There's security, databases, scripting to get the html to do stuff.

What should I be sure to learn? What's necessary to provide my clients (mostly smaller businesses) with sites that will perform as they want them to and not be a nightmare (I've heard stories).

What languages/programs are essential?

How does Wordpress work?

Thanks

ThinkCoffee (the only thing that designers actually imbibe - on duty! lol)

Welcome to the forum!

No, the web has a lot less typographic control, which is partly due to the fact that people view the web on a wide variety of devices, with different browsers, different screen sizes/resolutions, different features, etc. It isn't quite like print, where you know exactly how users will view it. You still can control a lot of the basics, but you won't get fine-grained control over things unless you are a bit obsessive and spend a lot of time doing fiddly changes.