Can't afford Dreamweaver. Any other options?

phantomnl

Hello everyone,

I'm a newcomer and novice web designer :-) I host two websites and both were initially designed in Microsoft FrontPage (in 2006). I am going to change to a different web host and they don't support FrontPage Extensions. I realise it's an old program and it's best if I move to a different design program. But which?

I can't afford Dreamweaver. Can anyone suggest any other good programs, up to about £150? I'm not an experienced designer so "what you see is what you get" is probably quite helpful for me.

I need fairly basic websites, one for a photography business, the other one for a band.

Thanks in advance!

Notepad - its free, simple, and there isn't really any bad point if you get used to it...

I'll slightly contradict this... If you want to code, at least use an editor with basic syntax highlighting and other coding specific features. Makes your life significantly easier, and helps you catch errors and other issues that you may overlook without syntax highlighting. I don't know of any professional coder that uses notepad as their primary editor when there are so many other better, free options available (no offense intended, @danhodge)

I see what you mean, but as said here:

'I'm a newcomer and novice web designer'

Surely a less complex program like Notepad could be better for learning to start with? I know there are others that are free, like Microsoft Webmatrix(which i have), but i personally benefited from having to work everything out for myself instead of seeing the exact mistakes straight away...

Speeds up and learning process you may need to get your head around :)

But i do see what you mean, and i may be finding another, as Webmatrix isn't very reliable either...