Is this right?

Baggy

I hope this is an appropriate place to ask this question:-

We have recently had a new site designed for us, as it required php and I have no knowledge of that and didn't have time to learn just now. Part of the arrangement was that we would have a CMS to allow us to work on/develop the site. To be honest, I'm not much impressed by the CMS but can manage with it (just) but one aspect does concern me.

The CMS only provides limited access to the meta data. The Description and Keywords are on a site-wide basis not on a per page basis. Only the Title can be set for each page. I am concerned that this will impede SEO and limit what can be achieved in that respect. The designer says not but I'm not convinced.

I appreciate this site is about web design and not SEO but I thought this is a design-related question.

Would anyone be prepared to express an opinion please?

As far as I'm concerned, Google doesn't use Keywords meta tag at all. It completely ignores it. However I think other search engines such as Yahoo and MSN etc use Keywords meta tag (Not 100% Sure could som1 else confirm this?)

Basically what you want to do is first and utmost have good page titles and description meta. Some CMS systems generate the description automatically from the page content, if your CMS does that then I think it's quite "adequate" in terms of SEO management.

sorry BeeDev but i need to disagree on that.

1. from my knowledge google does use meta Keywords. i'll be surprised to hear otherwise (though if some one else know different i'd like to know)

2. generated description from content is more than not enough for good SEO!!!

to sum it up- u paid him good money! u have to have control on those things..

I agree, per page: readable url, relevant page title,

tag and good written content have more effect on SEO than meta tags. Though just in case, good CMS has dynamic metatags as well.

Edited by lm