How to avoid ugly preloading in Galleria Javascript Gallery?

rotipom

Hi everyone,

I am new to the site and a complete NEWBIE in web design. Don't know anyone who does it and it's a constant struggle to do and understand simple tasks.....:P

I just created a bunch of portfolio galleries using Galleria for my site and find that while it looks and works really great, I am getting this ugly pre-loading thing, where a column of the large images are showing up for a split second while its loading before they become thumbnails.

click on the portfolio pages

David's demo2 doesn't seem to have that problem. Is there something I'm not doing or can do to remedy this? Would appreciate the advice or a link to a previous tutorial, thanks so much!!

Amy

Edited by rotipom

Hi Amy, most likely your going to have to do one of these... http://www.visibilityinherit.com/code/add-css-with-javascript.php

You may have to say display none (or similar) with js to prevent that flash.

Thanks Eric!!! I have no idea what it all means yet, but I am going to try to process it and hopfully figure it out...:)

Hey Eric,

I tried a bunch of things but it was like stabbing in the dark and I'm still getting that flash of unstyled content.

What I did was to try to insert the script of method3 into the source html (is that correct?) of my page. and where it says #method3 {color:green;} I replaced it with the entire contents of div_sb2 which contains my unordered list of unstyled images. Is that what I was supposed to do? Nothing removed that flash of content, and I tried the other methods doing the same...

The Galleria demo2 (link inserted in my original post) does not flash its unstyled content and I tried to look in the source code to see what he has added to prevent this but can't find anything (that I know of, which isn't much).

Help, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!!

Amy