Sidebar in dremweaver

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Terri Lynn

Terri Lynn

• New Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 February 2011 - 12:42 PM

Hi all, I'm a little new at dream weaver and brand new at this forum. I have built a couple of websites with DW CS5 but I am on my first one with a sidebar. The layout is fixed with header, footer, and sidebar on left, all inside of a container div Here is my question, some of my pages on the website have more content in the content div, and the div grows downward with the more content I put in, but the sidebar does not grow downward with the content div. And with this site some pages with a lot of content and others having less. How do I keep my sidebar running from my header all the way to my footer on every page regardless off page height?

#2 Wickham

Wickham

Advanced Member

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,732 posts
  • LocationSalisbury UK

Posted 07 February 2011 - 02:03 PM

That's a common question but the solutions can be a bit complicated. Here's one:-
http://matthewjamest...er-css-no-hacks
and some more in items 16 to 19 here:-
http://www.wickham43...xbackground.php

#3 Terri Lynn

Terri Lynn

• New Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 February 2011 - 08:02 PM

Is there any easier way like changing settings in the DW css panel :huh: anyone?

#4 Abai_Designs

Abai_Designs

• 10 posts
  • LocationSouth Africa

Posted 07 February 2011 - 08:23 PM

I would suggest that you just manually edit the sidebar divs’ pixel height, or you can just add empty paragraphs in the sidebar div. That’s the simplest way.

#5 Ben

Ben

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 5,655 posts
  • LocationChico, CA

Posted 07 February 2011 - 08:37 PM

Is there any easier way like changing settings in the DW css panel :huh: anyone?